Reflection/Rant: Manhwa – Kubera One Last God [Part 1]

BasilMarket-Wiki-Kubera8

I’ve been reading Kubera One Last God recently on MangaFox. Just finished Chapter 202, which is the end of Arc: That Which Cannot be Grasped or Held. So I’m going start reflecting and ranting about everything that has happened before… So if you haven’t read this arc and do not wish to be spoiled, please do not continue reading any further..

P.S. I am really sorry for how messy the post is going to be… It’s kind of like a rant to me so I’m just typing down whatever goes through my head(which is not the most orderly brain there is)

Okay I will start off with an overview of my feelings at this point of the chapter: Frustration and depression, then again I guess this much has to be expected since we are somewhat in the middle/climax of the manhwa(still don’t know how many chapters will it take but the author mentioned that it would definitely be more than 200).

However, this does not mean I do not like this series. Contrary to that, I am very fond of it, and that is why I am frustrated and depressed of what’s happening to my beloved characters in this series.

That is my overall feeling for this series but what I want to dwell deeper into is the characters themselves, and what I think they should have or should not have done…


Asha

MWSnap188tumblr_m83420Bbf41ru8epyo1_500

I cannot even express how much I loved her, from her very first appearance to her backstory with Brilith. She’s definitely one of the coolest woman out there in the manga world…

But after this arc, I realised how human she actually is. Human in the way that she make a lot of mistakes as well and getting nagged at by Ran ahahaha… As of now, Asha has yet to revealed her goal and her past, but it definitely has got something to do with revenge. And what she went through is definitely at an even greater scale than what Leez went through, so I’m really looking forward to finding out more about her past.

The problem that most readers would have with Asha is the way she expresses herself. Take for example how she just left Leez right after Ran told her that Leez is not going to be happy by her side and what not. All the readers probably already know that Asha really cares for Leez (since the slap she gave Leez when she went to get the bag), so how can she just suddenly decide to leave just like that after getting told off by Ran-oppa a bit?

CaptureCapture1

Asha has this bad habit of running away from problems and being stubborn in the sense that she does not like to admit defeat… let me elaborate more…

Whenever Ran tells Asha off about the way she treats Leez, you would always notice how she always just say that this doesn’t concern him at all or in the case of the the previous arc, she tells him that she will leave them.

Capture2

Capture3

I mean c’mon Asha, you can’t be those with high IQ and low EQ right… Unless she is totally oblivious about how Leez is attached to her (which is so god damn obvious), then she shouldn’t do something underhanded like that. Underhanded in the sense that she twists Ran’s advice to statements that make herself the victim and just leaving Ran to feel bad about it. I mean for someone as smart as her, she should be able to tell that Ran just wants the two of them to get along better. Unfortunately for Ran, apologising is probably one of Asha’s weakness, so getting them to reconcile with Asha apologising is not going to work out smoothly…

Also Asha’s jealousy of Leez is really something that pains me to see…

Capture5

Capture6

For someone who everybody thought was cold hearted, it really pains the readers to see that all she simply wanted were people to stand by her side. But being as cold as she is, it’s not going to be easy gaining friends and comrades as compared to Leez. But jealousy is no excuse and she really shouldn’t have brought up the superior sura incident so that she can drag Leez into the pit of sadness together with her.

Capture4

Asha wants to have comrades that would stay by her side, but she need to know that the 1st step to doing so is to be more honest with her feelings. And also stop being so unnecessarily cruel to Leez since no one would ever side with bully but instead the victim. And doing that would also push Leez, who’s actually on her side away from her… Similarly to what Yuta warned Asha about…

it really hurts me….. to see Asha in this state *sob sob* I really wish she would start being more honest with herself or someone could get her to wake up before it gets too late… More than anything I really want Asha to find someone besides Leez that would understand her and stay by her side…

…Somehow I feel that Leez and her are going to end up fighting against each other in the war and maybe that’s why she keeps thinking about how everyone is on Leez’s side and not hers…


Leez

2-96_future_Leez200935

Honestly I never really liked Leez from the start, since she is goddamn useless but recently after she started reading books and gotten her sword of Re, she’s starting to be okay with me.

One huge problem I have with Leez is the way she buries problem with smiles. I do not have the an issue generally with people having terrible pasts and being very cheerful now, in fact I respect and think these people are have admirable courage and tenacity. The problem with Leez is that… she SHOULD NOT shrug off the problems of yesterday and be happy today. IT DOESNT WORK THAT WAY GODDAMIT. IN FACT IT MAKES MATTERS WORSE AS CLOSE PEOPLE KNOW YOU ARE SUFFERING IN THE INSIDE AND YOU JUST LEAVE THE PROBLEM UNSOLVEDDDDDDDDD!!!!!

*pants pants*

*catches breath*

If you let yourself get pushed around too much by Asha, Ran and Yuta would come and comfort you , how nice it must be huh? But you just made Asha the total baddy by not fighting back and nobody is going to comfort Asha since well she’s the bad one huh. In a sense, by not fighting back, you are creating an even bigger distance between Asha and Leez. And just because you don’t have school doesnt give you a say that you dont know how to make friends properly because schools dont teach that anyways..!!!!

*still panting*

I’m sorry but I suddenly got really pissed and irrational suddenly after writing about Asha. So I’m really sorry for those who really adore Leez.. I do know that circumstances did not let her and that in her own way she did what she believed was the best, so no one can blame her..

I think Leez could do well to be more honest with her feelings and share her problems more often. That’s what friends are for right? (That’s what she always say) Anyways I do find her inconceivable for believing that Asha accidentally killed 29 people. How do I say this, It is true that friends should believe in one another, but in this case, Asha is totally not even trying to not make this look like an accident. So as a friend, Leez should have understood what Asha and asked her about the homicides and not just let it go like that. Anyways, judging the way Asha was talking about the incident, she’s like asking for someone to ask her about it already………………..

Capture17

I will continue going through other characters like Yuta and Ran in part 2

Thanks for reading, hope the clips from the manhwa made this a bit more bearable ahaha

One thought on “Reflection/Rant: Manhwa – Kubera One Last God [Part 1]

Leave a comment